Fenn, Haxton, Ward Shake off Rust with First Track Race of 2008

Haverford, PA

PRTC enjoyed watching several of its runners in action on an indoor track close to home. Ryan, Tom, and Pat all decided to start their 2008 racing off with a small indoor meet at Haverford.

In the mile, Ryan showed a good return to form, and showed his mid-distance speed. He narrowly missed the win, finishing just astride of new American citizen (and U.S. Olympic Marathon Trials qualifier) Macharia Yout. Pat doubled back and continued to sharpen his speed by running the 800m.

Finally, Tom and Ryan also doubled back in the 3000m. The 3000 had a deep field. Evidence of that can be seen by Ryan’s 8:41 first effort of the year on a flat track only claiming a 5th place finish. “I’m happy with my mile,” Ryan said later, “but I feel like I never really put myself in that 3k. I led for a good part of the race, but I wasn’t there late.” Tom was hampered by illness, but since has reported that he is feeling better and will be ready to go at the Feel the Love 5k.

