Abby wins Penn Relays 20k; Bart Wins Road 5k; Collins finishes 2nd at Widener Invite

Chester, PA; Philadelphia, PA

Though PRTC calls Franklin Field its home track, Abby Dean started the team’s Penn Relays 2007 racing on the road. Abby lined up Sunday morning for the official start of the Penn Relays week – the Penn Distance Classic 20k. The weather was fantastic, with clear skies and cool temperatures. The welcome conditions were a big help, considering Abby almost didn’t make it to the starting line. Nursing a sore hip, Abby still felt strong enough to have a go at the race.

In her big PR effort, Abby took the lead of the women’s race from the gun. This meant that Abby had to run many miles alone. “I ended up passing one guy, and no one passed me,” Abby clarified. “If you look at the results, the next person to come in was almost two minutes after me.”

“I have to say that I am extremely happy with my performance, and even more happy that I could keep a steady pace and not slow down at the  end. Better yet, I felt great doing it! Winning a Penn Relays watch was nice also!

BART RACED SATURDAY MORNING, albeit at a significantly shorter distance. Bart blistered the Run for Clean Air 5k in an 18 second PR! This time was only three seconds astride of Mike Hatch’s road 5k club record. There were 1,000 people that took part in this 5k, which found weather conditions similar to the Penn Relays Distance Classic. Bart made his intentions in the race clear, as he split 4:38 for the first mile. He then passed two miles in 9:17. “I was amazed to see that I was keeping the pace. Then it got a little harder toward the end. I just ran back as hard as I could. I was completely surprised at how this went.”

Afterward, Bart credited his decision to run less mileage and get rest as the keys to his big race. He also thought his pre-race evening meal of a loaf of wheat bread and a cup of honey may have played a significant part in his effort. WHILE BART WAS ON THE ROADS on Saturday morning, Matt Collins and Ted Callinan were on the track a few miles south. Knocking his time down almost two seconds from his first two races of the year, Matt finished 2nd in the 400m hurdles in a time of 54:91. Matt hopes to break his own club record of 53:86 at the Penn Relays on Saturday morning. Ted doubled in the 1500 and 800m, running 3:58.94 and 2:02.51 respectively.

